top of page

Growing Mushrooms

I've been seeing these Back to the Roots Organic Mushroom Grow kits advertised for a while now and I have both been very interested in giving it a try but also kinda grossed out about the idea of growing my own fungi. I was so excited to get the kit for a Christmas gift and I could not wait to finally be able to test this out for myself.


I was happy to see that both the box and the instruction booklet was both easy to read but also was very informative. I had no problem following the instructions, it wasn't complicated. Twice a day I sprayed them with water in the mister that came with the kit. This picture is what it looked like on day one.

After about 3 days things really started to grow which was exciting.

The really took off from there. It seemed like they grew bigger every time I looked at them.


This last picture is of what they looked like on the day I harvested them. They tasted great! We tried them plain, then in a salad and what was left in a stir fry. Best mushrooms I've ever grown. So is this kit worth the time and money? YES! It wasn't hard to care for and it was really fun for my children and I to watch grow. A science project and snack all in one! I'm considering buying another mushroom kit but I see Back to the Roots also sells a Indoor cherry tomato windowsill garden and a microgreen kit that I think I'll try next. Then I saw this Back to the Roots Water Garden a Self-Cleaning Fish Tank That Grows Food It's a Mini Aquaponic Ecosystem. I think that counts as a learning based project for the kids and I love learning based projects.





Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page